on a heavier note…

Things really haven’t been going my way lately.

For starters, the Australian Open. I wanted Verdasco to beat Nadal so bad. Seriously, the guy deserves a break. He played superbly and they were absolutely on par with each other all the way, even through the fifth set. That’s saying so much, considering Verdasco’s number fourteen and Nadal’s number 1. Then my guy double faulted. I almost cried. I may even have had a little tear. He was so close. I could smell victory around the bend and then he made his fatal error. That was the semi-final. So i managed to forget about it and look forward to yesterday’s finals. Alas it was false hope i gave myself. Nadal beat Federer. I was hoping Federer would get his fourteenth grand slam so he could be right up there with Pete Sampras. But it wasn’t to be. At least not at this grand slam. I suppose there will always be more grand slams for him to win. And i’m confident he’ll reach his fourteenth. Go Roger! 

Secondly, my phone is psycho. I can’t use the 8 and 9 keys anymore. They just don’t register when i hit them. And i’m so sick of trying to paraphrase everything that i’m trying to say in a text message without using the letters t, u, v, w, x, y, and z. I can do the easy replies of course, like okay will become sure or fine but try paraphrasing THURSDAY. I can’t even say the fourth weekday. Freaking hell, it’s killing me. 

Plus, my reserves of favourite cookies from New Zealand are fast depleting. They’re the most toothsome stuff, i’ll tell you. They’re actually just ordinary cookies but they’re coated with pink icing and topped with rainbow hundreds and thousands. I’m salivating even as i’m typing this. It is addictive. I was totally out of control and i didn’t realise i was slowly but very surely exhausting my supply. I blame this on the new packaging. It’s now packaged in those resealable ziplock baggies that you can’t see the bottom of, and i always assume there’s an endless supply because, ridiculously, i actually do believe it’s bottomless. And then i peer into the precious bag and… Woe is me! Grief overcomes me. Oh woe betide! I literally gasped and gaped in horror. I saw the sad reality that i could count the remaining cookies with my two hands. So i embarked on my mission to ration my supplies of this glorious food and only eat it when i absolutely must. It was going well until some visitors discovered them in my secret (well obviously, not so secret anymore) place where i stowed it away. And they didn’t ask. Damage done was a heart-stopping total of four cookies. Yes, it sounds petty. But now i can count the remaining cookies on ONE hand! I shan’t divulge who the damage-doer is. It’s not her fault. She didn’t know i practically live on the stuff. Oh, who am i kidding? Hell yeah, i hold a grudge. But only until i forget it, which is pretty much after this venting episode here. See, i’m already a happier person now. 

But wait till you hear what happened to my ipod!! It doesn’t work properly anymore because, wait for it, it fell into the bloody toilet. I kid you not. The touchscreen is malfunctioning and the screen looks like it has water inside it, and of course it does. It’s already an improvement, seeing as how i couldn’t even get it on for a while and i had to resort to blow-drying it. Now i can proudly say that i have joined the ranks of the utterly domestic and have fished around the inside of a toilet. ‘Tis a strange (and totally absolutely unquestionably undoubtedly 100% gross) feeling, really. Although, it did make me feel like i could conquer the world and do anything. I stuck my hand in the freaking toilet. Beat that! Now that should totally up my street cred. And in case you were wondering, there wasn’t anything in the toilet. Of course there wasn’t. I’m not an unsanitary savage, you know. I wouldn’t have gone on my valiant plunge of a rescue mission otherwise. But see, i don’t have a back-up plan now. My white nano and only viable option for a back-up was lent to Mark Cheng before the exams and he still has it. And even then, i don’t think i could use it since he said there’s something wrong with it now. Not that i blame him. My black nano doesn’t work anymore. And then my mini just might work, if i could just get it to register on my computer. Right now, i plug it in and nothing pops up on the desktop or in my itunes. Then my shuffle actually does work, except i can’t find the blasted wire to connect it to my computer. (Granted, i probably wouldn’t use my shuffle anyway because i find it annoying that i can’t see the song that i’m choosing and i have to memorise the order in which i have arranged my songs to select a song. Why go through such an ordeal to listen to a song? Isn’t it supposed to be a pleasurable experience? Plus, the novelty and spontaneity of hearing two completely different songs from genres that totally do not complement each other play back-to-back wears off after a while.) And i can’t find my photo or my video. Which is just stellar. I know the photo was somewhere on the top of some cupboard somewhere in the house but it isn’t anywhere to be found now. I can’t remember the last time i saw the video. You’d think i could use at least one of my ipods! That’s all i’m asking for. Is that too hard? My ipods hate me. It’s like they’re forming an alliance against me. It’s almost like they want to fall into the toilet. 

And the worst part of it all: I can’t listen to music to soothe me when misery decides to wreck my day. I can’t even wallow in self-pity without my music. I don’t have any cookies for comfort food. I don’t even have a text messaging function to bitch about having things to bitch about in the first place.

Oh well, c’est la vie. I’ll just have to wait till things take a turn for the better then. 

Meanwhile, go ahead and have a laugh at my circumstances, you sadistic dingbats. I’ll admit they are quite humourous, albeit in a perversely warped way. At least something good comes out of this. 

2 Comments

  1. nureen said,

    February 2, 2009 at 10:26 am

    im quoting myself “you have so many ipods bloody hell!”
    ahaha nic you’re nuts! as i mentioned earlier. but i do feel pity for you. your life is quite sad now. hahah. but then again, hilarious!

  2. liza oh said,

    February 4, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    oh the horror you have too many ipods. hahahah


Leave a comment